‘Mainstream’ Femdom Film – Venus in Furs

Many of you will know the first published work on male submissiveness and female dominance and sadism was a novel entitled Venus in Furs, written by Sacher Masoch. And from it the word ‘masochism’ was born. There are many films entitled Venus in Furs. Most are rubbish. I have noticed one film which is called Venus in Furs – La Vénus à la fourrure (dated 1995). It looks, from the trailer, like it is a very good film. Copies on Amazon are however very expensive. Has any blog reader seen this version all the way through and would they recommend it. Particularly female readers of my blog. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to ‘Mainstream’ Femdom Film – Venus in Furs

  1. steeledsnakecharmer says:

    Haven’t seen the movie but saw a stage production of it. It was amazing.

  2. I have it. I can burn a DVD for u if u have a PO box

  3. tiffanymaid says:

    Not directly relevent, but related, “The Duke of Burgundy” movie appears to be a quality film related to D/s, albeit female to female, and carries some excellent D/s themes in some depth. A massive improvement on the “other” current D/s movie.

    • Thank you for the tip. I watched the trailer on IMDB and I will be purchasing the Duke of Burgundy. It is so, so disappointing that 50 shades of grey is the mainstream BDSM novel. The writing standard and characterisations are so appalling!!!!

      • Rebecca says:

        Did you actually watch the film? I found it to be ok, but it was so mild. The way it was portrayed aswell hasn’t done anyone any favours, they have made it look slightly abusive which are what views people probably already had about bdsm, it definitely could of been a lot better thought out. A bit disappointing really.

        • I found the characterisations and plot and writing standard so poor in the book: 50 Shades of Grey, that I could not continue to read after about the first 25 pages. I did not finish the book and did not watch the film.

      • tiffanymaid says:

        Reminder…..Duke of Burgundy is released on DVD/Bluray on Monday (27 April) in UK

  4. 9L says:

    I have a DVD rip of the 1995 film (.avi – dubbed in English) and a BR rip of the 2013 Polanski version (.mkv – French language, unfortunately I haven’t found either English subtitles or dubbing).

    If you want to email me I can upload either/both and send you the link.

    • Thank you for the offer. Would the link allow me to download the 1995 film or just to watch it online?
      I would not be interested in the Polanski film. The reviews suggest it has just about nothing to do with female domination.

  5. Ty says:

    I hope this comment doesn’t upset you but I wanted to share that I had a dream about you last night. I am a lurker on your blog and enjoy your wicked mind very much. In my dream, you had invited my wife over to train her how to dominate me and also to make love to her as her superior. I have never been so immersed in a dream and so depressed to wake up. Just wanted to share that you have the power to seep into the subconscious of complete strangers.

  6. Scott says:

    I recently reread Venus in Furs and it’s not that good. Severin is a pushy and whiny “do me sub” who emotionally bullies Wanda into assuming the role of his fantasy. She didn’t really want that and ends up “curing” him the end so that he can mistreat women. The story has an underlying theme of inevitable antagonism between men and women, and the author was not good to his real life wives, one of whom he divorced out of bordem.

    I was enraptured the first time I read it ten years ago for the sadomasochistic passages and depiction of a dominant and cruel women, but I missed alot.

    The film version you are looking for may be appealing enough on a visceral level to watch, but I’d say pass on the story.

    • I read the book many years ago and agree it is poor, however it is is the first femdom book ever published so gets a place in femdom history (and gave the world the word masochist)

Leave a Reply

